The Coldest I Have Ever Been. 

Today a shocking thing happened. 

I under-dressed for a run. 

I know. I KNOW. It’s ok. I made it. But I wanted to share this with all of you so that you never, ever make the same mistake as I did. 

I am famous for overdressing. The anstruther 10km debacle is evidence of this. So today I was going to be totally fine…

The weather this morning was Scottish, at best. I’ve run through two winters. I’ve run in a blizzard, hail storms and thundersnow. There’s not much that will drive me to a treadmill other than icy pavements and risk-of-breaking-bones. Today we had 50mph gusts and a LOT of rain. Standard, really. Nothing I haven’t dealt with before. 

But. Somehow today turned out to be EXTRA shite. 

I went for a thermal base layer, t shirt over the top, thermal tights, my really decent waterproof, buff and visor to stop the rain putting actual holes in my eye-balls. Usual cold/wet weather kit. I also opted for my Nike winter gloves. Which turned out to be Nike winter sponges. 

The wind was so powerful that it was blowing the car across the motorway. OH and I headed to Lochore for a change of scenery. Plenty of MTB tracks for him to explore on his Santa Cruz, and a familiar route for me with a mix of hardcore and Tarmac. Ideal.  

I had a low HR and therefore SLOW 1hr25mins to get in. So a couple of laps of the loch would do it. 

I should’ve known by the time we got there and there was sleet hitting the car, that this was going to be tough. 

Within half a km I was already soaked. And frozen. “Not to worry, I usually warm up in a few km” and right enough, by the end of the first lap I was back at Optimum Temperature. 

As I rounded the top of the loch, the ice-bullets were really pummelling me hard. There was much cursing. Damn you, Scottish winter. Give me a fecking BREAK! 

By 8km I was starting to lose body temperature. Fast. My hands were like ice. My feet were numb (and soaked) and the waterproof was now filled with all the rain blowing into it. 

It was decidedly fucking miserable. And I really don’t usually mind Weather when I’m running. 

I made it back to the car before OH. Thank feck I took the keys. I jumped in and immediately had to strip and get the heating on. My lips had gone blue and my hands wouldn’t work. Pretty sure I’m lucky no one called the police as there’s registers for folk that get naked in carparks… 

When OH made it back his bike-nappy and entirity of his kit must’ve weighed about 12kgs. We steamed all the way home while I inhaled two cereal bars that I found in the glove box. 

Once in the door I literally poached myself in the shower. I’ve never been more desperate to be warm. I also definitely spent an extra 10 minutes using the hairdryer to warm myself up. 

Lesson? MORE THERMALS. And I should’ve gone for waterproof gloves. Or stayed in bed!!! 

I pre-vitamined and shall dose up again tonight. I’ve also realised that my beautiful new Asics are destined to be black with mud. I’ve had to dry these on the heated clothes rack FIVE TIMES this year. That’s five whole times more than any of my other sneaks. Boo. 

I’m off to hide under MANY blankets now…

One thought on “The Coldest I Have Ever Been. 

Leave a Reply

