And heeere’s the comedown…

It’s been a long time coming… Last week a mystery virus made me weak and dizzy, but soon buggered off and allowed me to swim at Loch Lomond which I LOVED. This week, however, my immune system finally saw the opportunity to strike me down during a “cut” (bit of post race fuelling carb-induced weight gain calorie control) and my gentle re-introduction to a bit of fitness maintenance. Here I am on a Friday night with no training, plenty of fluids and lots of carbs. Guess I’ll be saying a reluctant “hello” to the 1.5kgs I’d lost. *sulk*

I’d been so high for so long. Buoyed by the sense of achievement, amazing fitness level and excitement of realising ambitions and smashing personal goals, the come-down was always going to suck a bit.

I feel rotten. Not just poorly rotten but mentally very very exhausted. The last year has been filled with anticipation, anxious excitement, goals to be met, bike building, wiggle browsing and training plans. Now the familiar post-race slump has firmly set in. It happened much more quickly after the marathon. I was beginning to hope I’d got away with it this time!!

I have plenty to look forward to. A few wee 10k’s and An Exciting Thing that I don’t want to jinx by mentioning… So it’s not all bleak and depressing and excitement-free…

This is normal. I know it is. But I don’t think it ever gets easier to deal with, especially when combined with a delightfully tough time in the office. I’d probably be much more positive about life if it didn’t feel like I was swallowing a some razor blades mixed with sand.

It’s coming up for the end of the tri-season now, so I expect to see more of you at my pity party soon enough. Bring cake please. And beer.

For now, I shall continue to browse Entry Central longingly while looking at new kit ideas on Wiggle…

On the plus side, I forgot about telly. And the art of sitting very still for extended periods of time. I also haven’t seen 5am for ages, which is tremendous. Next weekend I’m going camping with my bestest mates from School! On an actual weekend! When I have no races or training!

It’s not all doom and gloom. I just have to remain positive and wait for ALL THE VITAMINS to start dragging my immune system back out of the depths of disrepair and into the snot-free land of the living again.

One thought on “And heeere’s the comedown…

  1. The more races you do the less you’ll feel like that.

    As soon as you’re over your bug, gently back into your routine and keep focussed on the real goal (which is there whether there is a race or not) – ‘self improvement’.

Leave a Reply

