Taking the good with the bad.

I’ve been quiet for a couple of weeks (not like me, I know…)

Been a very busy Bean with training really picking up the distance and pace now.

The week before last (week post back/neck injury) was brilliant. The first week in about 6 or 7 weeks that work commitments didn’t hamper my training schedule.

6 mile Tuesday (walk jog run)
x trainer Wednesday
6.5 mile Thursday
X trainer Friday
Physio Saturday
16 mile Sunday.

Fantastic. I was feeling on top of the world. My distance run was consistent and leg pain free.

Then: a miracle.

For the first time since training began in July last year, I went for my Tuesday run this week and managed 5 pain free miles.

I even managed to spell the word Balls with my GPS. Which I think might be my best success to date.

I could have kept going but I had eaten my emergency Snickers too close to run time. So ended up feeling particularly sick.

This week ended a bit differently. Due to weekend plans, my usual distance run was brought forward to Saturday morning. Early. It didn’t go fantastically. For a start, I was slow. The weather wasn’t great. 14 degrees and muggy. Immediately I knew I’d judged nutrition wrong. Should have gone savoury. Sweet is just rank when it’s humid. Last weeks 11 minute mile average was replaced by 12.5 minute miles. I had opted for long sleeves as it was forecast to heave it down. It didn’t. The sun came out. But not like last Sunday in 16 degrees and sunny with a breeze. This was hot, humid and MIDGE CENTRAL. Not fun. I did manage to make 10 miles before I had to take an ibuprofen for my hips. Which are beginning to hurt very badly on longer runs.

By mile 10 I realised that the route I’d planned was shit. Not only would I have to retrace steps, I’d pass my house with 4 miles still to go. BRUTAL.

18 miles in 3hrs40 mins. Not brilliant but it marks the beginning of the end of my real endurance training.

4 hours is the plan for next Sunday. And if I can get to 20 miles that will be a huge psychological barrier met. Which would significantly reduce my anxiety. I hope.

This week will depend entirely on how quickly I can shift The Plague which I woke up with this morning. I was warned early on in my training by part time Super Hero and full time Iron Man @ironpugsley that once I hit 18 miles (honestly think the man is psychic) I’d struggle with my immune system. I can’t decide whether he’s jinxed me or not.

Either way. Here I am. With my temp finally below 39 degrees. Feeling a little sore and sleepy but not as horribly sick as I was earlier.

If I can shift this I will be on my way to my last big run before my birthday holiday and the start of tapering.

I also got my race vest this week from Maggie’s. A scary moment.

Watch this space for Race Pack arrival!

20140427-202328.jpg

2 thoughts on “Taking the good with the bad.

  1. Don’t sweat it Bean, you are exactly where you need to be. You train your body for the first 20 miles and you learn how to suffer with a forced smile for the last 6.2.

    Deposit the last long run in the bank then enjoy your fitness and strength as you taper.

  2. “At mile 20, I thought I was dead. At mile 22, I wished I was dead. At mile 24, I knew I was dead. At mile 26.2, I realized I had become too tough to kill.”

    Anonymous.

Leave a Reply

