Weekend of rest with VLM

Bugger. Spoke too soon. 

Almost as soon as the words “better not get an injury now..” left my mouth, I threw my neck/back/shoulder out. An old niggly injury that likes to rear its ugly head when I’m run down or tired. I woke at 4.30 am to the familiar and unwelcome breathlessness and pain shooting through my back and arm. FUCKING AWESOME. I’ve not had a real proper relapse for 2 years. Just little niggles here and there that I’ve managed to iron out with Pilates and yoga. This episode had been brought on by stress, burning the candle at both ends and generally pushing myself a bit too far. My body was screaming “STOP. I’M SUPPOSED TO BE A TEMPLE. THIS IS TOO MUCH”. Unfortunately instead of listening, I was shouting back, giving it “BE QUIET WE’VE GOT WORK TO DO”.

I managed to make it to work on Friday but pain levels were an 8 and not decreasing with movement. I realised I was also being an insufferable bastard. So I went home and luckily had pre-booked physio for my hip that night anyway. PhysioDan decided to leave the hip this week and focus on spinal alignment and sorting out the muscular tension. OUCH. Nothing quite like a man using his bodyweight to crack your spine… I swore VERY loudly. 

Rest was prescribed on the weekend I was due to complete my first 3 hour run. I have always been organised and the thought of now only having 3 weeks left before tapering starts to get up to 4 hours, fills me with pure anxiety. 

Friends and family are still full of encouragement and I’m about to break the £600 mark on my fundraising for Maggie’s Centres

I had planned on running on Saturday so I could have Sunday to chill out and watch the VLM. I’m watching it anyway with many tears, fears and nerves. I’m also getting twitchy. Desperate to get out and run again. Thursday night’s bad run is still fresh in my mind and it’s making me really anxious. 

The plan this week (back permitting) is:

Monday:Pilates

Tuesday: Easy Run for an hour

Wednesday:Gym – Core & Cross Trainer

Thursday: Race Pace Run for an hour/6miles

Friday: Gym – Core & Cross Trainer again

Saturday Physio/Rest

Sunday: 3 hours. 

Fingers crossed I can get back out there this week and nail it. Watching the VLM is incredibly inspiring and emotional. Fuck knows what state I shall be in 6 weeks today when I’m standing in my starting pen. I’m actually getting terribly excited…

 

Leave a Reply

