Getting me through…

As you may already be aware, I’m running the Edinburgh Marathon for Maggie’s Centres. Everyone is aware of the Research based charities set up to fund the search for a cure for Cancer, but few consider what is required for those battling the disease, or their loved ones.

On Saturday, I was invited to attend a training day at their Edinburgh Centre. In the grounds of the Western General, a beautiful, warm environment welcomes anyone affected directly or indirectly by any form of Cancer. They do truly amazing work. It costs £2400 PER DAY to keep the centre running. So if I can raise half that, I’ll be thrilled.

Joel Enoch (British Triathlete and Iron Man) was there to examine our running technique and give us tonnes of advice on race prep (note: I’ve started calling it a race now…) nutrition and recovery. He also talked us through motivation and ways that we can push ourselves to train harder for longer and eventually complete the Marathon. 

I’m going to share a video he showed us with you. If you are training for an event, or just feeling a bit shit about stuff, I defy you not to be moved by this.

This is the story of Jamie. A young guy from America, who broke his neck on a submerged sandbank after jumping off a boat. Here is his journey. (Be warned. It’s INCREDIBLY moving)  

Pretty strong stuff, eh?

So. That’s the motivation. There’s many millions of people in the world fighting bigger battles than me.

But…. I can HELP. my legs are still good. I can still walk, run, stagger and crawl and as long as I can do those things, I will help raise cash for people who are fighting.

Music is also a massive motivator for me. I have VERY diverse taste and find different types of solace from different types of music.

I figured I’d share my current playlist with you on the off chance if provides some form of inspiration.

Sub Focus – Tidal Waves

If I’m struggling this one helps me get my pace back. It’s best LOUD.

Avicii – Adicted to You

Love this. Properly love it. Again, if I’m struggling this one pulls me out of the rut.

Coldplay – Every Tear

One of my most treasured songs.

Biffy Clyro – Biblical

Because Biffy. And Scottish.

Jay Z – 99 Problems

Takes me back to uni days and memorising the lyrics. I can zone out completely. This is a good one for when the pain kicks in.

Rammstein – Sonne

Absolute Belter. And another nostalgic one.

So now you can all judge my taste in music (let it be known that this is now wholly representative…) …

Injury status: acupuncture and physio last night for hip in prep for 14 miles on Thursday

#Bringiton

One thought on “Getting me through…

Leave a Reply

