More miles FTW

This week, my challenge was to complete 8 miles in one go and I’m delighted to have run 8.4 miles this morning. Usually my big run is on a Sunday with medium distance runs on a Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.

Unfortunately it’s very difficult to squeeze in training around my day job which involves a great deal of travel at certain times of the year. However, I managed it and although my time was glacial, I’m happy and more importantly PAIN FREE.

This is because I’ve finally discovered seriously cool* and deeply sexy** More Miles compression socks.

*not cool
**not in the least bit sexy

It takes me about 5 hours to get them on but my word, it’s like my calves are getting a cuddle. For 8.4 miles. Wonderful.

Hilariously, I entered a Strava challenge for Feb which is supposed to see how many km’s you can run. I am currently ranking 4321st out of 18,238 runners at 39kms since Feb 1st. I’ll take that, thanks. (The person in the lead has run 288kms which is, quite frankly, stupid).

See you all at Rio 2016 then.

But really, I’ve found one of the best ways to push myself forward with training is by setting goals and giving myself realistic challenges. And I’m learning not to be too hard on myself if I have to walk a bit or if I have to stop and throw up. Or if I inhale an entire pizza on a Friday night (clean eating can fuck right off. This girl needs PROPER CARBS).

My training programme requires Cross Training on Wednesdays and Fridays which I’m doing in the form of cross trainer, boxing/circuits/cardio class and advanced Pilates.

I’m hoping this combination of fitness boosting (and fatness busting ) methods will continue to improve my general fitness.

After next week I start tempo running which I am DREADING. I hate sprinting. That should only be required when you have to run for a bus or you’re chasing Christian Bale (dressed as Batman) holding a cake.

I’ll let you know how I get on.

(Incidentally if you ARE reading this, Christian, I like a good Victoria Sponge).

Leave a Reply

