Finding the Motivation

A wise friend of mine once said “if you think about it, running 26 miles is dumb”.

He’s spot on. You should follow him on twitter for more wisdom: @theriotwright

Many people have died while running a marathon. It puts so much strain on your body and your mind that it’s beginning to freak me out. Don’t get me started on those of you crazy enough to enter UltraMarathons. That’s a whole new level of mental.

One of the things I find I struggle with the most is actually pushing myself to run further through pain and discomfort. I’m hoping this becomes less of a challenge once the evenings get longer and less Baltic and I can go for a run in shorts and a t shirt instead of a ski suit.

The mental barriers I create for myself are sometimes impossible to crack. I find myself getting really emotional about the whole thing. What pushes me forward is the support of my incredible friends and family.

You just have to scroll through the messages on my Just Giving page to see how much this means to them, and in turn, how much this means to me.

I’m only putting myself through a few months of discomfort. The people I am doing this for have to endure so much more.

In the mean time, I shall be taking out shares in Voltarol and Tiger Balm.

20140123-204431.jpg

Leave a Reply

