Replacing sitting for walking.

Back in good old 2012, I was 12 stone and a size 16 (which is not fat, by the way, it’s just not a size I was comfortable being). I needed to get fit. I’d thought about running but that’s for nutters, right? No one should run. Ever. Unless it’s away from something. 

So when a colleague invited me to do the 2013 Edinburgh Kiltwalk with her, I accepted. Albeit reluctantly at first. This turned out to be the best decision of my life. (Thank you Lesley x)

On May 19th 2013, Lesley, Hilary, Helen and I walked/staggered/actually jogged for a bit to relieve the pain in my glute’s 27.2 miles (IT WAS NOT 26) and raised over £2000 for 7 different and AMAZING children’s charities. It was the best day ever. Not at the time, of course, I was in agony. And for 5 miles we were stuck behind a woman wearing a jingly jesters hat. I almost killed her. And when I had to stop at mile 19 to apply blister plasters and she overtook us again, I thought the girls were going to kill me! 

After the hip-ache ceased and my feet forgave me, I made a pledge that every year, I would do one thing to challenge myself physically, and raise money for a charity at the same time. 

 

Leave a Reply

